The Office of Early Childhood Services has two main departments: Early Intervention and Preschool (Head Start and Pre-K Counts).

Preschool
Montgomery County Intermediate Unit Head Start and Montgomery County Intermediate Unit Pre-K Counts are FREE, federally-funded preschool programs for children from low-income families ages 3 to 5 in Montgomery County. These program offer no-cost educational, nutritional, and social services that help children prepare for success in school. MCIU’s preschool programs provide services to enrolled families, and also meets the needs of special populations, including children with disabilities.

Early Intervention
The Early Intervention office is responsible for providing services to eligible young children ages three to age of beginner through an agreement with the Department of Education. Preschool children are eligible for early intervention services that exhibit a developmental delay of 25 percent or a disability and require specially designed instruction.

 

Department Contacts

Holly Acosta Dr. Holly Acosta
Director of the Office of Early Childhood Services
Email: hacosta@mciu.org
Phone: 610-755-9310
Lisa Boffa, Administrative Assistant, lboffa@mciu.org
Lorinda Moyer Lorinda Moyer
Assistant Director of the Office of Early Childhood Services
Phone: 610-755-9430
Email: lmoyer@mciu.org

 

Administrators:

Nicole Irvin Program Administrator, Early Intervention – Central Region 610-755-9488 nirvin@mciu.org
Chris Stewart Program Administrator, Early Intervention – Eastern Region 610-755-9499 cstewart@mciu.org
Ashley Lee Program Administrator, Early Intervention – Northern Region 610-755-9334 alee@mciu.org
Jennifer Smerecky Program Administrator, Early Intervention – Western Region 610-755-9323 jsmerecky@mciu.org
Paula Rice Program Administrator, Head Start 484-808-2230 price@mciu.org
Rebecca DeSantis Program Administrator, Pre-K Counts 610-755-9394 rdesantis@mciu.org